Professional Development Committee Current Minutes

TCMA Professional Development Committee
Hyatt Regency

August 25-26, 2017

Members participating in the committee meeting included:  TCMA President Paulette Hartman, Assistant City Manager, North Richland Hills; Chair David Harris, City Administrator, Balcones Heights; Vice Chair Karen Daly; Chris Sharp, Assistant City Manager, Canyon; Courtney Sharp, City Manager, Midland;
Mario Canizares, Deputy City Manager, Coppell; Jay Abercrombie, City Manager, Bullard; Ron Cox, Municipal Consultant, Ron Cox Consulting; Mark Browne, City Manager, Alamo Heights; Darla Jones, Interim City Manager, South Padre Island; Corby Alexander, City Manger, La Porte; Laurie Brewer, Assistant City Manager, Georgetown; Ed Broussard, City Manager, Tyler; Lea Davila, Council Agenda Process Manager, Austin; Micah Grau, Interim City Manager, Hutto; Paul Hofmann, City Manager, Bellaire; Shannon Mattingly, Planning and Development Services Director, San Marcos; Rick Menchaca, Managing Director, BOSC, Inc. Texas Public Finance; Gilbert Perales, Deputy City Manager, Arlington;
Stephanie Russell, Administrative Services Manager, Dickinson; Joe Vera, Assistant City Manager, McAllen; Rebecca Vice, Assistant to the City Manager, Allen; Paul Vergadamo, City Administrator, Conroe; Chris Whittaker, City Manager, Rockdale; Carol Zolnerowich, Director of Strategic Planning Services, Brinkley Sargent Wiginton Architects

Guests: Bert Lumbreras, Assistant City Manager, Austin; Jason Garza, Assistant to the Assistant City Manager, Austin; Jackson Daly, Assistant to the City Manager, Georgetown

TML staff: Kim Pendergraft

Paulette Hartman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and thanked the members for participating. Paulette explained that David Harris would be chairing the Professional Development Committee since he is the recently elected President-Elect.

Paulette provided an overview of Committee responsibilities and reported on the key objectives the Board discussed for the 2016-2018 TCMA Strategic Plan.

The Committee worked in groups to identify key topics impacting local government while keeping in mind the Board’s key objectives.

Committee members volunteered to coordinate speakers for the William “King” Cole 1 and 2 series. Upon confirmation, notice should be sent to Kim. The deadline to have speakers confirmed is October 10.

Chris Sharp, Courtney Sharp, Chris Coffman, and David Landis will coordinate the sessions for the City Management Clinic.  The final program will be sent to Kim by October 10.

The Committee took a break at Noon for lunch, toured the hotel, and reconvened at 1:00 p.m.

The Committee finalized concurrent session topics for the 2017 TCMA Annual Conference, identified the career level for each session, and members were assigned to coordinate a session. The conference theme is Music to Our Ears. The following information should be sent to Kim no later than December 1:

  • Session title
  • Session description to include “take aways”
  • Speaker names, title, organization/city
  • Speaker contact information
  • ICMA Practice Group

Representatives from the City of Austin provided information for a youth/guest event during the conference and hosted an off-site tour of locations for the Friday night family event.

The Committee adjourned at 5:45 p.m. and reconvened August 26 at 8:30 a.m.

The Committee reviewed the recap of the Song Title Subcommittee with additional titles being added. There was also a suggestion to not have a scheduled Saturday luncheon and move the Business meeting to Saturday morning.

The Committee discussed additional training and identified topics for the TCMA-ICMA Coaching webinar series. Kim will send the suggestions to ICMA.

  • P3 for Quality of Life: Lorenzo Nastasi, Director, Community Initiatives,
    Balcones Heights; Mary Scott Nabors, Hilton Austin Project
  • Shared Economy: Darla Jones, Interim City Manager, South Padre Island;
    Shannon Mattingly, Planning and Development Services Director, San Marcos;
    Jeff Arndt, President/CEO VIA Metropolitan Transit, San Antonio
  • Managing Healthcare Costs and Wellness Programs: Roger Roecker, City Manager, Friendswood; Jarrad Wills, Holmes Murphy
  • Financial Presentation of Aging Infrastructure (Rehabilitation of Facilities, Capacity Issues): Josh Selleck, City Manager, Kilgore; Oregon Model, Jim Matthews
  • Economic Development/Redevelopment (Code Changes, Downtown Redevelopment): Dan Johnson, City Manager, Richardson; Paul Hofmann, City Manager, Bellaire;
    Bill Lindley, Town Administrator, Highland Park; City of Round Rock; City of Carrolton
  •  Nuts and Bolts of Public Works: Kim Davis, City Manager, Hondo
  • Creating a Safety Culture in Your Organization: Texas Municipal League Risk Pool

The Committee discussed keynote speakers for the Annual Conference and generated session topic titles. Topic titles are listed on the draft conference agenda. Kim will research availability of speakers and fees.

  • Friday Opening General Session
    • Sandra Bullock, actress
    • Jonna Mendez, author of Argo and former CIA
    • Richard Florida, urbanist, Creative Class Group
    • John Oliver, comedian
    • Robert Rodriguez, filmmaker, musician
    • Dennis Quaid, actor
  • Saturday General Session
    • UT Chancellor William (Bill) McRaven
    • Karen Thoreson, President/CEO Alliance
    • Chris Voss, founder The Black Swan Group, author, and former FBI negotiator
    • UT Coaches (Charlie Strong or Shaka Smart)
  • Sunday Closing Brunch
    • Ester’s Follies
    • Michael Jr., Christian comedian

The Committee decided to offer the Watershed Day Camp for the youth/guest event and the Bullock Texas State History Museum for the Friday night event. The City of Austin and Kim will coordinate. There was discussion about requesting that several regions co-sponsor the evening event.

On a motion by Shannon and a second by Chris, the Committee recommends that a resort location be included in the rotation with TCMA regions assisting financially with conference needs and planning,  and include South Padre Island in the rotation.  The conferences will follow the rotation as presented:

            2018: Galveston (contracted)
            2019: Fort Worth (contracted)
            2020: South Padre Island
            2021: Central Texas
            2022: Resort
            2023: Metroplex
            2024: Galveston
            2025: Central Texas
            2026: South Padre Island (100 year anniversary)
            2027: Metroplex
            2028: Resort

With nothing else on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m.