Membership Committee Current Minutes

TCMA Membership Committee
September 9, 2016, 9:00 a.m.
Texas Municipal League, Austin

Members of the committee present at the meeting included: Chair Chris Coffman; City Manager, Granbury; Vice Chair David Harris, City Administrator, Balcones Heights; Eddie Edwards,
City Manager, Borger; Emily Crawford, City Manager, Brownwood; Tim Kelty, City Manager, Henderson; Scott Sellers, City Manager, Kyle; Kelly Kuenstler, City Manager, Leon Valley;
Jesus Garza, City Manager, Kingsville; Joni Clarke, City Manager, Lucas; Shawn Cox,
Special Projects Manager, Bellaire; Brian LaBorde, Assistant City Manager, Buda, Caitlan Smelley, Assistant to the City Manager, Addison; Greg Smith, City Administrator, Shenandoah; Kenneth Williams, City Manager, Buda

TML Staff: Kim Pendergraft, Nicole Little

Committee Chair Chris Coffman called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and thanked the committee members for participating.

Chris gave an overview of Committee responsibilities, including review of the Membership Committee objectives on the TCMA Operational Plan.

Membership Communication
The Committee discussed and approved a new process to help expedite membership outreach at the region level. Copies of the following printed membership correspondence will be sent via email to Region Presidents:

  • Welcome letters to new members
  • Congratulation letters to current members who have been appointed to new city management positions
  • Letters and membership applications sent to newly appointed city mangers who are not TCMA members

The email will also be sent to Region Board members and the Membership Committee Representative. Staff will provide contact information (email and phone) for these individuals.

The Committee discussed additional scholarship funding and new scholarships.

  • TCMA Annual Conference Scholarship

On a motion by Kelly and a second by Eddie, the Committee recommends to the Board that the current five (5) TCMA Annual Conference New Professionals Scholarships be permanently increased to $1,000 and three (3) $1,000 scholarships be provided for those members who have served cities more than five years.

  • 2017 ICMA Annual Conference Scholarship

On a motion by Greg and a second by Shawn, the Committee recommends to the Board that TCMA partner with ICMA to offer 25 scholarships to TCMA members who are not current ICMA members. TCMA will provide registration to attend the 2017 ICMA Annual Conference in San Antonio and ICMA will provide one year complimentary ICMA membership.

In-Transition Services
Joni and Greg volunteered to be on the MIT support team. Kenneth is the current chair.

TCMA Membership Directory
On a motion by Scott and a second by Joni, the Committee recommends that the PDF membership directory no longer be published. The current online search engine will be the directory of choice which has the capability to be printed.

Salary Survey
The Committee reviewed a discussed the Salary Survey. No changes were recommended. The survey will be distributed in October.

Endorsement Guidelines for Corporate Scholarships
The Committee discussed scholarships created by private organizations that want TCMA to promote, manage, and in some cases help fund. On a motion by Kelly and a second by Tim, the Committee recommends that the current Sponsorship and Endorsement Guidelines be updated to include: TCMA does not partner, promote, or manage scholarships for private organizations.

Private Sector Committee Members
The Committee discussed placement and participation of private sector members on TCMA committees. On a motion by Kelly and a second by Tim, the Committee recommends to the Board that Cooperating members will not be eligible to serve on a committee unless they are ex-officio committee members and they cannot promote or display their corporation at or during the committee meetings.

Members of the Committee volunteered to write an article each month for the

Management Messenger. Articles are due the 15th of the month prior to publication and should be sent to TCMA staff.

October David Harris
November Scott Sellers
December Joni Clarke
January Jesus Garza
February Eddie Edwards
March Kelley Kuenstler
April Tim Kelty
May Caitlan Smelley
June Shawn Cox
July Emily Crawford
August Chris Coffman
September Brian LaBorde

The next meeting is January 20 at 9:00 a.m. via conference call. The Committee will select the Professional Award recipients.

With everything accomplished on the agenda, the meeting was adjourned at 11:15 a.m.