Public Policy Task Force

The Texas City Management Association (TCMA) Public Policy Task Force will facilitate membership involvement in the Texas Municipal League Legislative process by:

  • Assisting TML in soliciting the TCMA membership and elected officials to actively engage in the legislative process.
  • Vetting legislative issues of importance to the membership. Recommendations shall be submitted to the TCMA Board, which shall comply with affiliate "Mandatory Conditions Related to Legislative Activities" of TML.
  • Create tools to help cities understand the impact of state legislation on them.
  • Provide avenues of communication between state and local officials.
  • Collaboration with other groups such as chapters of APA, NLC, ICMA, NFBPA, LGHN, and other affiliate organizations of TML to work on policy initiatives.
  • Make recommendations to the TML Board.


Minutes are available after approval.

View most recent minutes

Chair- Jared Miller, City Manager, Amarillo
Vice Chair- Brian LaBorde, City Manager, Taylor

Task Force Region Representatives
Region 1      Shane Stokes, City Manager, Pampa
Region 2      Elena Quintanilla, City Manager, Ransom Canyon
Region 3      Robert Hanna, City Manager, Abilene
Region 4      Melissa Valadez-Cummings, Assistant City Manager, Cedar Hill
Region 5      John Whitsell, City Administrator, Chandler
Region 6      Jason Reynolds, City Manager, Baytown
Region 7      Trey Fletcher, City Administrator, West Lake Hills
Region 8      Tobin Maples, City Manager, Fair Oaks Ranch
Region 9      Kathleen Weisenberger, Assistant City Manager, Portland
Region 10    Jeff Johnston, Assistant City Manager, McAllen

Additional Task Force Members
Corby Alexander, City Manager, La Porte
Vince DiPiazza, City Manager, Uvalde
Steve Dye, City Manager, Grand Prairie
James Earp, City Manager, Hutto
James Fisher, Interim City Administrator, Silverton
Bret Haney, City Administrator, Cockrell Hill
Mark Israelson, City Manager, Plano
Bill Lindley, Town Administrator, Highland Park
Dalton Rice, City Manager, Morgan's Point Resort
Greg Smith, Life Member
Imelda Speck, Senior Housing & Redevelopment Manager, Irving
Ben Thatcher, City Manager, Boerne
Kenneth Williams, City Manager, Beaumont
Mark Wood, Assistant City Manager, Colleyville
Bill Yenne, Life Member