Managers in Residence and Mentors

The MIR Manual breaks down everything there is to know about the Manager and Residence Program. In brief, the program is designed to bridge the gap between the college student and practitioner. The purpose of the program is to aide city managers and college professors in ushering the next generation of municipal leadership.


City Managers of tomorrow are encouraged to have a mentor. Mentor can assist with career advise, help develop knowledge and skills, and serve as a valuable resource. Even though many mentoring opportunities happen organically, if you are seeking a mentor, those serving as Managers in Residence is a good place to begin. A list is provided for you to begin connecting today. 

You can also get connected with the 1-1 Coaching program through ICMA.

Managers in Residence

University  Name, Title, City Email
Sam Houston State Brant Gary, Interim City Manager, Bellaire Email Brant Gary
St. Mary's University
David Harris, City Administrator, Balcones Heights
Mike Hornes, Assistant City Manager, Live Oak
Stephen F. Austin State University
David Moss, City Manager, Southside Place
Texas A&M University 
Paul Virgadamo, City Administrator, Conroe  
Joey Dunn, Deputy City Manager, Bryan 
Neal Wendele, City Manager, Todd Mission
Texas Southern University Michael Goodrum, City Manager, Sugar Land
Corby Alexander, City Manager, La Porte
Email Mike Goodrum
Texas State University
James Earp, Assistant City Manager, Kyle 
Kenneth Williams, City Manager, Buda  
Texas Tech University Jeffrey Snyder, City Manager, Plainview
Erik Rejino, City Manager, Levelland
University of Houston
Austin Bleess, City Manager, Jersey Village 
Julie Robinson, City Administrator, Spring Valley Village  
University of Texas Scott Sellers, City Manager, Kyle
Brenda Eivens, City Manager, Cedar Park
James Hartshorn, Assistant City Manager, Pflugerville
Email Scott Sellers
Email Brenda Eivens
University of North Texas
John Cabrales
Drew Corn, Town Administrator, Northlake  
Ryan Adams, Deputy Director of Public Affairs/IGR, Denton
University of Texas - San Antonio
Kent Myers, City Manager, Fredericksburg
University of Texas- Arlington Opal Mauldin-Jones, City Manager, Lancaster
Ben Williamson, Assistant City Manager, Farmers Branch
Email Opal Mauldin-Jones
Email Ben Williamson
University of Texas - Dallas
Julie Couch, Town Manager, Fairview 
University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley
Jeff Johnston, Assistant City Manager, McAllen  
Michelle Rivera, Assistant City Manager, McAllen  
University of Texas - Tyler
Ed Broussard, City Manager, Tyler  
Josh Selleck, City Manager, Kilgore

University Representatives

University Name, Title Email
Sam Houston State                                    Mike Yawn, Clinical Professor                                                                                  Email Mike Yawn                
St. Mary's University Alex Briseno, Professor of Public Service in Residence
Dr. Joseph Gershtenson, Director, MPA Program, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science 

Email Alex Briseno
Stephen F. Austin State University Dr. Cindy L. Davis, Master of Public Administration Program Director  Email Dr. Cindy L. Davis
Texas A&M University 
Dr. Robert Greer, Assistant Professor of Public Budgeting and Finance 
Dr. Justin Bullock, Assistant Professor
Mike Cochran, Assistant Director - Career & Student Services 
Email Dr. Robert Greer

Texas Southern University
Dr. Michael Adams, Interim Chair of Political Science/Professor PH.D. 
Email Dr. Michael Adams
Texas State University Nandhini Rangararjan, Director, MPA Program Email Thomas Longoria
Texas Tech University
Dr. Nathaniel S. Wright, Director,  MPA Program
Email Dr. Wright
University of Houston
James Thurmond, Director, MPA Program 
Email James Thurmond
University of Texas Don Kettl, Sid Richardson Professor Email Don Kettl
University of North Texas
Dr. Brian Collins, Associate Professor and Department Chair 
Email Dr. Brian Collins
University of Texas - San Antonio Dr. Francine Romero, Department Chair
Gina Amatangelo, Lecturer
Email Dr. Romero
University of Texas - Arlington
Dr. David Coursey, Director – Public Administration, Associate Professor 
Email Dr. David Coursey
University of Texas - Dallas
Dr. John McCaskill, Clinical Professor
Email Dr. John McCaskill
University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley
John Milford, Graduate Professional Practitioner Lecturer 

Email John Milford
University of Texas - Tyler
Dr. Ken Wink, Associate Professor of Public Administration 
Email Dr. Ken Wink